In June 2016, the European Union (EU) signed an Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA), a rules based – development oriented Free Trade Agreement (FTA) with Swaziland and five other Southern African Development Community (SADC) member countries namely: Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and South Africa. The EPA, which entered into provisional application in October 2016, has been ratified by all 6 SADC EPA Member States. Swaziland stands to benefit immensely from the EU-SADC EPA whose objectives are in line with the objectives of the SADC Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISDP) which include: eradication of poverty; promoting regional integration, economic co-operation and good governance. The Agreement further aims at promoting the gradual integration of the EPA States into the world economy in line with their priorities, supporting increased investment and private sector initiatives, enhancing supply capacity, competitiveness, economic growth and further improving SADC EPA States’ capacity in trade policy and trade-related issues. Swaziland exports a number of products into the EU market including, sugar, sugar-based concentrates, citrus fruit, fruit juices and others. It is anticipated that the EPA will catalyse the economies of the SADC Member States through expansion of the industrial base and further support development of regional and global value chains and ensure export diversification, as well as deepening regional integration.

For more information:


EPA Legal Text (Agreement)


Tariff Book and Schedules